Winner! Winner! Chicken Dinner!

Motherhood has robbed me of my mind.  I read somewhere that lack of sleep can impair your memory.   I’d cite the study, but I can’t remember where I read it.  I have tried a number of remedies to regenerate my memory –  brain-teasers played on a hand held video game, copious amounts of ginkgo biloba, the salmon-only Omega 3 diet…   I couldn’t remember any more than I did before I started these treatments, but I did have a sudden urge to swim upstream.  I also drank enough green tea to float the Chinese Navy.  The only thing I could remember to do was pee.

Many years ago I prided myself on being able to memorize the phone number of everyone I knew.  To this day I can recite the phone number of Lisa, my 4th grade table-mate.  I can rattle off all of my credit card numbers, their security codes, and expiration dates thanks to internet shopping.  However, I cannot remember the sum of the two cards in my hand while playing Blackjack, even though I counted them up on my fingers.  Twice.   By the time the dealer nods his head in my direction, silently asking if I want another card, I have to add them up again.  On my fingers.  Twice.  To the joy of all the other players at the table.

Consequently, my life has turned into one long round of $25,000 Pyramid, that wonderful staple of game shows where contestants had to prompt their partner into guessing a series of words or phrases that they were describing to them.  I used to be great at that show, but thus far in my real life I haven’t won any money.

Standing at the kitchen sink, up to my elbows in dirty dishes and dishwater, I spy a forgotten item on the far counter that needs to be washed.  “Daughter!” I call, because she is my daughter, but more so because her name escapes me at the moment.   Jerking my head in the direction of the offending item, I order her, “Hand me that………shiny thing…….its silver…….you use it to eat……..it has tines…..”

“Fork?” she implores?. She has always been my brightest child.

“Yes!”    I exclaim, excitedly.   Daughter brings me the fork and turns to leave.

“Before you leave will you please put away the……..it goes in the refrigerator………its white……..we drink it……..”

“Milk?” she supplies helpfully.   One day she will become a doctor, or maybe an astrophysicist.

“Yes!!!” I shout, certain that at any moment Dick Clark will appear from beyond the grave (looking exactly the same as he has since 1965) and ask me to select another category.

Correct me if I’m wrong, but shouldn’t this now advance me to the next level?   Why is it that I never advance to the next level?!?  Where is my damn money??!!!!  And where the hell is Dick Clark!?

This entry was posted in My Life and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to Winner! Winner! Chicken Dinner!

  1. Colleen says:

    You seriously make me laugh to “pee myself” levels every day.

  2. Shannon your favorite friend says:

    This is why you are supposed to do this! Because you are brilliant at it! That and the fact that you are blonde with big boobs, that’s accounts for over half of everything you are blessed to do in life.

  3. Stacey says:

    I’d call mine “Daughter” but it’s such a long word, it sometimes alludes me. I end up combing their names, “Jolivia,” “Livjonah” or “Jovee.” There’s only two of them. And they each have their own gender. You know it’s time to check in with yourself when you, um, call your husband perhaps one of the kids’ names at an inopportune moment in, ahem, a silly moment in, well, you know. Puts a quick end to the amorous moments… (Which I swear was not my strategy.)

  4. Jane Cornett says:

    I loved this – at 61 after 4 kids, I’ll tell you it doesn’t get any better – in fact if you have an 87 year old dad, your 63 year old husband (both whom are a little/lot hard of hearing) and our dinner conversation is like a guessing game and unreal turn of conversation direction because of what one thought the other said. At least there is never a dull day and we can’t remember the meaning of same ole same ole because we usually don’t remember yesterday!! Like you, I can still remember grade school friends phone numbers but cell phones have robbed our need to know!!

  5. Paulene says:

    Oh my gosh you are totally made to blog. You are hysterical on Facebook. I see a book and a movie (that I would totally read and see, well maybe not read but definitely see) in the making. Raaa raaa goooo Michelle!!! Kick some Blog Butt. Can I put my arms down now???

  6. The One and Only J9 ! says:

    Yep… Found your Calling!!!

  7. Kathe says:

    Perhaps you should try flash cards, Megan.

  8. IWeenie says:

    Console yourself with the fact that it only gets worse as you get older, Melanie.

  9. Bridgit says:

    That was really funny! And you give me a hard time about remembering names! Ha ha

  10. Lori says:

    I finally gave up on names. Now they are just 1, 2 and 3. 🙂

Leave a Reply

