Not that it’s a competition or anything…

I am a total creature of habit.  If something works for me, I’ll do it the same way until the end of time.  Like lunches for school.  My kids get the same, boring thing every day.  A sandwich, a piece of fruit, and a granola bar.   As long as no one complains, I figure we are good.

lunch-bunch

Leave it to the Japanese to send me doubting my ability to be a mother at all, let alone pack a lunch.

Yesterday, I was reading my favorite blog – The Bloggess – when something in her comment thread sent me to a new (to me) blog – Mom in Two Cultures .   This mom was talking about having lived in Japan, and the pressure for all moms to pack the “perfect lunch” every day.  There are multiple websites dedicated to ideas for Japanese moms so the kids don’t get bored with their lunch.  Here are just a few of the many ideas.

p1010444_p p1010501_p p1010564_1_p p1010715_p p1010807_p img20080912_p p9280915_p

Now my lunches look like poo.

Stupid Japanese.

This entry was posted in Food, Home, My Family, My Life and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Not that it’s a competition or anything…

  1. Shannon, your favorite friend. says:

    I will take a Hello Kitty and two dancing pandas please.

  2. Jennifer says:

    I want a sushi pod.

  3. Nicola says:

    I love Mom in Two Cultures, though her lunches aren’t nearly as cool She posts pics of them on the Mom in Two Cultures FB page.

  4. kiisu23 says:

    Bento culture is spreading too! 🙂

Leave a Reply

